National League West

The National League West is one of the 3 Branches of the National League of Major League Baseball in North America (including Canada).

This Division was made for the 1969 year when the National League expanded to 12 teams by adding the San Diego Padres and the Montreal Expos. For purpose of maintaining a regular-season of all 162 games, half of the groups were put to the new East Division and half to the brand new West Division. Within each division, the teams played 18 games each against their five division mates (90 games), along with 12 games against the teams in the opposite division (72 matches ), totaling 162 games.
Regardless of the geography, the owners of the Chicago Cubs insisted that their staff be put in the East Division along with the teams at New York City, Philadelphia, and Pittsburgh. Also, the owners of the St. Louis Cardinals desired that team to maintain the same division with their natural competitions of the Cubs. Like the American League did, the league could have insisted on a alignment. But the owners were concerned about what they believed would be a large imbalance in the strength of the branches. From the two seasons before realignment, the Cardinals, Giants, and Cubs finished 1-2-3 in the National League standings. The owners were worried about putting those groups in the same branch, thereby creating one very strong division (West) and one weak one (East). Given All This, the owners of the Atlanta Braves and the Cincinnati Reds consented to being put in the West Division, even though Atlanta and Cincinnati are both from the Eastern Time Zone. Hence, the West Division had clubs disperse all the way from the East to the Pacific Coast, and sprinkled over four time zones. The East Division was spread across the Eastern Time Zone and the Central Time Zone – despite the fact that the National League had six teams in the Eastern Time Zone and six teams spread between the Central Time Zone and the Pacific Time Zone.
All this increased the traveling distances and times for each the teams, and it also made radio broadcasting and TV broadcasts of those games more difficult to schedule. The Braves and the Reds had to travel all the way to California three occasions during each baseball season, and the 3 groups in California had to travel to Atlanta, Cincinnati, and Houston three occasions too. Sometimes, the problem could be alleviated for them by playing a few games in Chicago, St. Louis, or Pittsburgh on the same long road trips. The 1994 inclusion of the Central Division would completely remedy these problems, when the Reds and Braves moved into the NL Central and NL East respectively.

Read more here:

Bir önceki yazımız olan Jess Thirlby names first England squad for Australia and New Zealand tour başlıklı makalemizi de okumanızı öneririz.